List of Hong Kong tycoons, business elites and CPPCC members called to Beijing, September 21-23, 2014

From Sunday, September 21 to Tuesday, September 22, former Chief Executive, Tung Chee-hwa, himself a tycoon, leads over 70 members of the Hong Kong business elite in attending a seminar on Hong Kong ‘political reform’, a meeting with President Xi Jinping and a dinner with National People’s Congress Standing Committee head Zhang Dejiang in Beijing.

This is only the second time since the 1997 handover that such a delegation of Hong Kong business elites have visited Beijing, called by Chinese Communist Party members to discuss ‘political reform’.  The first time was in 2003, after the July 1 march of more than 500,000 people against Article 23 security legislation that the CCP and the Hong Kong government were trying to introduce in Hong Kong.  As a result of that march, the Article 23 legislation failed and Tung Chee-hwa, Chief Executive at the time, was eventually forced to resign.  Both visits of business elites, in 2003 and 2014, have come at moments of what the CCP regards as political crisis in Hong Kong and have been meant to shore up support by Hong Kong business elites for CCP policy in Hong Kong. 

By many people in Hong Kong, the people on this list are regarded as amongst those most opposed to genuine universal suffrage.  The business elites perceive equal political rights as threatening their business interests.  Hong Kong is currently run as a kind of plutocracy, with the Chinese Communist Party and the Hong Kong business elites monopolizing all real political power.

Thanks to SCMP for the following list, taken from this article

List of Hong Kong tycoons, business elites and CPPCC members called to Beijing, September 21-23, 2014

Cheung Kong (Holdings) chairman Li Ka-shing
Deputy chairman of Cheung Kong (Holdings) and elder son of Li Ka-shing, Victor Li Tzar-kuoi
PCCW chairman and younger son of Li Ka-shing, Richard Li Tzar-kai
K Wah Group chairman and Galaxy Entertainment Group founder Lui Che-woo
Henderson Land Development chairman Lee Shau-kee and his elder son Peter Lee Ka-kit
Sun Hung Kai Properties Alternate Director Adam Kwok Kai-fai
Bank of East Asia chairman David Li Kwok-po
New World Development chairman Henry Cheng Kar-shun
CLP Holdings chairman Michael Kadoorie
Sino Land chairman Robert Ng Chee Siong
Harilela Group vice-chairman Gary Harilela
Hang Lung Properties chairman Ronnie Chan Chichung
Shui On Land chairman Vincent Lo Hong-sui
MGM China’s co-chairman and daughter of casino mogul Stanley Ho Hung-sun, Pansy Ho Chiu-king
Ian Fok Chun-wan, son of the late Henry Fok Ying-tung
Wharf (Holdings) chairman Peter Woo Kwong-ching
Asia Financial Holdings chairman Robin Chan Yau-hing
Li & Fung honorary chairman Victor Fung Kwok-king
Lai Sun Development chairman Peter Lam Kin-ngok,
Oriental Press Group former chairman Ma Ching-kwan
Glorious Sun Enterprises chairman Yeung Chun-kam
Phoenix Satellite Television chairman Liu Changle
Swire Pacific director Ian Shiu Sai-cheung
Shimao Property Holdings founder and chairman Hui Wing-mau
China Grand Forestry Resources Group founder Ng Leung-ho
Goldlion Holdings deputy chairman Ricky Tsang Chi-ming
Novel Enterprises vice-chairman Ronald Chao Kee-young
HKR International managing director Victor Cha Mou-zing
Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation chief executive officer Peter Wong Tung-shun
Prof Anna Pao Sohmen, daughter of late tycoon Pao Yue-kong
Far East Consortium International chairman David Chiu Tat-cheong
Shun Hing Group vice-chairman David Mong Tak-yeung
Galaxy Entertainment Group deputy chairman Francis Lui Yiu-tung
Dah Sing Life Assurance Company chairman David Wong Shou-yeh
Far East Holdings International chairman Deacon Chiu’s son, Duncan Chiu
Bank of China International Holdings deputy chief executive officer Tse Yung-hoi

Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference
Henry Tang Ying-yen
Ambrose Lau Hon-chuen
Yu Kwok-chun
Chan Wing-kee
Stephen Tai Tak-fung
Lam Shu-chit
Annie Wu Suk-ching
Hung Chao-hong
Anthony Wu Ting-yuk
Choi Koon-shum
Chan King-wai
Lo Man-tuen
Samuel Yung Wing-ki
Wong Cho-bau
Tam Kam-kau
Chang Yung-tsung (former CPPCC member)

Business chambers
Pang Yiu-kai, chairman of Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce
Stewart Leung Chi-kin, chairman of executive committee, Real Estate Developers Association
Jose Yu Sun-say, standing committee member of Chinese General Chamber of Commerce
Lawrence Ma Chung-lai, standing committee member of Chinese General Chamber of Commerce
Iron Sze, president of Chinese Manufacturers’ Association
Stanley Lau Chin-ho, chairman of Federation of Hong Kong Industries
Chong Shing-hum, president of Hong Kong Chinese Importers’ and Exporters’ Association

Professionals and others
Kaizer Lau Ping-cheung, surveyor; campaigner for Leung Chun-ying in chief executive election
Law Society former president Ambrose Lam San-keung
Lawyer and DAB Wong Tai Sin District Councillor Maggie Chan Man-ki
Chairman of Hong Kong Federation of Education Workers Wong Kwan-yu
PricewaterhouseCoopers Partner Dennis Ho Chiu-ping
Medical Council President Dr Louis Shih Tai-cho
Engineer Yim Kin-ping
Architect and former lawmaker Patrick Lau Sau-sing
Institute of Surveyors former president Stephen Lai Yuk-fai
Executive Councillor Cheung Chi-kong